The Modern Literary Collections began with several large book donations by Lafayette College alumnus Joseph E. Nechasek ’62 concentrating on first editions by American authors William Faulkner and Robert Stone. The collections expanded to includes works by international authors W. G. Sebald, J. M. Coetzee, and J. M. G. Le Clezio., the writings of African American women including Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison and Pulitzer Prize playwright Lynn Nottage, and nearly 100 works of contemporary immigration literature. A number of 20th century works of fiction by such authors as John De Passos, E. L. Doctorow and others was added from the Rare Books Collection.