The College Archives documents the history of Lafayette College from its founding in 1824 to the present day by preserving the administrative records, audio visual materials, photographs, and objects associated with the institution.
Arranged alphabetically by name, this inventory lists the location, construction date, architect, and builder of campus facilities past and present. Photographs and a short description of each building’s use are also included in the survey. The architectural history of Pardee Hall, Van Wickle Hall, McKelvy House, Hogg Hall, Colton Chapel, Kirby Hall, and Farinon College Center is also available in an essay by Robert Saltonstall Mattison entitled "Lafayette College Architecture: In Context."
During the 1970′s single sex colleges and universities throughout the United States were becoming coeducational at an unprecedented rate. In May of 1967, the Lafayette Faculty urged the president to assemble a special committee to consider the possibility of becoming coed. The committee, consisting of faculty and alumni, recommended in March of 1968 that the college admit women.
Prepared by Professor Emeritus of History and Archivist Emeritus Albert W. Gendebien '34, this online resource details the history of the Greek experience on campus. A directory with images of fraternities and sororities at Lafayette College and the documents governing these organizations are available as appendices to the text.